Former NFL official and officiating supervisor Jim Daopoulos weighed in with his first impression of Kiko Alonso’s hit on the Ravens’ Joe Flacco, and it could be viewed as a surprise to many fans.
Speaking on WCSR-AM, The Score, on the Bernstein and Goff show, Daopoulos said, “I didn’t think it was an illegal hit.”
Daopoulos understands why the NFL wants to protect quarterback and protect the head. But he added that when the quarterback starts to scramble, “he becomes a runner.” Daopoulos explained, “You have to understand this is a football game and he’s gonna get hit.”
Daopoulos observed that Flacco started his slide late and the hit was marginal — even though it was at the head and neck. The former NFL umpire understands why referee John Parry threw the flag. But Daopoulos added that there should have been a flag on the Ravens for roughing up Alonso. “I think we should have had offsetting penalties,” he said.
Of Flacco, Daopoulos said, “Shame on him. He tried get those extra yards. Now he wants to press the envelope a little bit. That’s what he did and he got hit. I don’t think it was a malicious hit. If he was a running back it would have been a nothing call. I’m OK with the penalty. I don’t feel like anything will happen [as far as a suspension].”
Daopoulos explained it is a very hard play to officiate when the quarterback slides late and/or after the defender has committed to stopping the scramble.
Listen to the entire interview by clicking on the above link and open the October 27 “Olin Kreutz on Bears-Saints” audio.
On another note: Line judge Jeff Seeman (number 45) was lucky he wasn’t injured in the scrum. Someone rolled up his leg from the side. He could have injured his knee.
Image: CBS Sports via larrybrownsports.com.
3 thoughts on “Former NFL supervisor: ‘I didn’t think it was an illegal hit’ on Flacco”
Agreed. Rule 7.2.1(d) says a runner is only protected when he declared himself down by “sliding feet-first on the ground”. Flacco was not actually sliding on the ground until milliseconds before he was hit, and even then, he had at best one foot forward, not both feet forward, since it appears he deliberately tucked one foot back in an effort to extend the slide. IMO, Flacco did not do what is required by the rule to declare himself actually down and gain the benefit of being protected, and it was therefore a legal hit.
Absolute embarrassment that they didn’t flag the Ravens for their actions after.
Ravens have a history of getting away with things…
Comments are closed.