(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({ google_ad_client: "ca-pub-3070301786099382", enable_page_level_ads: true });
Football Zebras
CallsQuick calls: Week 13

Quick calls: Week 13

Did you see a call that needs explanation? Did the officials get something wrong? Let us know in the comments or tweet us @footballzebras. We will update this post with our observations.

(Officiating assignments)

[liveblog]

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});
Ben Austro
Ben Austro is the editor and founder of Football Zebras and the author of So You Think You Know Football?: The Armchair Ref's Guide to the Official Rules (on sale now)

6 thoughts on “Quick calls: Week 13

  1. On your description of the Texans/Titans mishap, it was the Texans that were denied the runback, rather than the Titans.

  2. I understand simpleminded one-sentence (lack of defense) for the overturned TD call during the Seahawks win; there is none. The turf is not cement- Edwards hands were beneath the ball. There is NO evidence that shows that this was not a TD catch. The ruling on the field was a catch.

    The Seattle winning OT TD in this game was clear as day and yet the review process was 4 minutes long.

    A muffed Bears return was recovered by Seattle yet called instantaneously as a Bears recovery (non-reviewable as it was a ‘fair catch??’).

    Marshawn Lynch forward progress had been stopped for over a second though the whistle had not blown, though the whistles were quick for the Bears O all game, resulting in a fumble. This does not bother me as much because many of lynch’s yards come after initial contact / wrap up, but shows a systemic ref bias (especially Mike Carey’s crew) – THEY ARE TRYING TO MAKE UP FOR THE PACKERS WIN AND WE HAVE BEEN PAYING FOR IT ALL SEASON.

    ‘You mad, bro?’ You bet I am.

  3. A muffed Bears return was recovered by Seattle yet called instantaneously as a Bears recovery (non-reviewable as it was a ‘fair catch??’).

    I didn’t see the play, but if Seattle called for fair catch, and they muffed the catch, the fair catch signal still applies until the ball hits the ground. At that point, it is free for all.

    It used to be a 15-yard penalty if you catch an opponent’s muffed fair catch in mid-air. That rule changed a couple of years ago (because of this play in 2009).

    But that is correct if the fair catcher bobbles the ball, he can still get the ball before it touches the ground.

  4. I have to take issue with the assumption of the placement of the second down indicator. I am an umpire, I do use two, but I do not use my thumb. It is a matter of preference as to which hand does what and which finger(s) are used to mean position.

    Thanks for letting me vent! Happy calls to all!

  5. Interesting! As long as the down is kept properly and there are no delays, doesn’t matter how you get there, I suppose. Thanks for your on-field perspective, Kell.

Comments are closed.

Top