Connect with us

2024 UFL season

UFL Week 1 officiating assignments

The USFL and XFL have returned for the United Football League



The USFL and XFL have merged into the United Football League, which kicks off this weekend.

Four teams from each league were placed in two conferences. In the USFL Conference, there are the Birmingham Stallions, Houston Roughnecks, Memphis Showboats, and Michigan Panthers. In the XFL Conference are the Arlington Renegades, D.C. Defenders, San Antonio Brahmas, and St. Louis Battlehawks.

There are 70 officials from the FBS level in college. All but two officials worked in the USFL or the XFL. Each game site has a dedicated replay official and a game supervisor is appointed to each game.

Mike VanderVelde was the referee for the XFL Championship Game and will preside over the first game of the new league.

All times are Eastern.

Game assignments

Saturday, March 30

  • Birmingham Stallions at Arlington Renegades, 1 p.m. Fox — Mike VanderVelde
  • St. Louis Battlehawks at Michigan Panthers, 4 p.m. Fox — Adam Savoie

Sunday, March 31

  • D.C. Defenders at San Antonio Brahmas, noon ESPN ESPN+ — Bryan Banks
  • Memphis Showboats at Houston Roughnecks, 3 p.m. ESPN ESPN+ — Jeff Heaser


Officials are shown with their college conference, the number of years in the NFL’s Mackie Development Program, and the number of seasons working one of the spring pro leagues. Crew changes are also noted.

      MDP Yrs Pro League Yrs Conference  
R 8 Michael VanderVelde 0 2 Big 12        
U 21 Krystle Apellaniz 1 3 ACC  
DJ 99 Rod Ammari 0 4 Big Ten  
LJ 38 Josiah Ford 1 2 ACC  
FJ 24 John Morton 0 2 Pac-12  
SJ 7 Raymond Tate 0 2 SEC  
BJ 75 David Ross 0 4 Pac-12  
  • Replay official: Chad Wakefield
  • Game supervisor: Steve Strimling

      MDP Yrs Pro League Yrs Conference  
R 27 Adam Savoie 5 5 ACC        
U 80 Daniel Gautreaux 4 5 SEC  
DJ 35 John Braun 0 1 Big 12  
LJ 90 Darren Deckard 0 2 Big 12  
FJ 25 Nicole Randolph 3 2 Big Ten  
SJ 23 Raymond Daniel 5 3 Big Ten  
BJ 42 Peter Buchanan 0 2 ACC  
  • Replay official: Crathman Stephens
  • Game supervisor: Jimmy DeBell

      MDP Yrs Pro League Yrs Conference  
R 72 Bryan Banks 3 3 Big Ten        
U 15 Amanda Sauer 2 6 Big Ten  
DJ 85 Stephen Ray 3 2 SEC  
LJ 95 Brian Perry 4 2 ACC  
FJ 53 Josh Aragon 0 2 Mountain West  
SJ 33 Ryan Flynn 0 2 ACC  
BJ 86 Brett Toney 0 2 SEC  
  • Replay official: Brian Jones
  • Game supervisor: Marvel July

      MDP Yrs Pro League Yrs Conference UFL crew
R 22 Jeff Heaser 2 4 ACC  
U 59 William Thomas 8 3 ACC  
DJ 62 Cravonne Barrett 4 5 Big 12  
LJ 14 Jeremiah Harris 0 2 SEC  
FJ 55 Glen Fucik 5 5 SEC Autry
SJ 97 Gabriel DeLeon 3 2 Big 12  
BJ 94 Donnie Aultman 0 2 Big 12  
  • Replay official: Yvette Matchette
  • Game supervisor: Steve Strimling

Ben Austro is the editor and founder of Football Zebras and the author of So You Think You Know Football?: The Armchair Ref's Guide to the Official Rules (on sale now)

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Post a comment using, Twitter, Facebook, or Google account:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.