Connect with us

Assignments

Week 8 referee assignments

Scott Novak will head the crew in Buccaneers-Bills on Thursday night.

Published

on

Embed from Getty Images

Scott Novak will be warming up in Orchard Park, N.Y., to kick off Week 8 with the Bills hosting the Buccaneers on Thursday night. It is the second Thursday assignment for Novak’s crew.

Thursday, Oct. 26

  • Buccaneers at Bills  Prime — Scott Novak

Sunday, Oct. 29

  • Falcons at Titans  — Clay Martin
  • Texans at Panthers  — John Hussey
  • Jaguars at Steelers  — Alan Eck
  • Rams at Cowboys  — Adrian Hill
  • Vikings at Packers  — Shawn Hochuli
  • Patriots at Dolphins  — Land Clark
  • Saints at Colts  — Craig Wrolstad
  • Jets at Giants  — Shawn Smith
  • Eagles at Commanders  — Carl Cheffers
  • Browns at Seahawks  — Bill Vinovich
  • Ravens at Cardinals  — Tra Blake
  • Bengals at 49ers  — Ron Torbert
  • Chiefs at Broncos  — Brad Allen 150TH GAME AS REFEREE
  • Bears at Chargers  NBC Peacock — Brad Rogers

Monday, Oct. 30

  • Raiders at Lions  ESPN ABC ESPN+ — Clete Blakeman

Ben Austro is the editor and founder of Football Zebras and the author of So You Think You Know Football?: The Armchair Ref's Guide to the Official Rules (on sale now)

Continue Reading
2 Comments

2 Comments

  1. P.O.

    October 29, 2023 at 4:49 pm

    Eagles @ Commanders

    3rd & 5 at WSH 25
    (2:21 – 4th) (Shotgun) S.Howell pass short middle to J.Dotson. Looked like it was ruled a catch and 1st down (seemed like the right call)

    Slay was injured during the play so clock stopped at 2:05 in 4th. Referee mic was out but NY office ruled the catch was incomplete.

    Washington challenged the incomplete pass ruling, and the play was upheld as incomplete as replay was inconclusive.

    1. How can the NY office overturn a play as called on the field when it wasn’t under 2 min. left? There was 2:05m on the clock.

    2. How was Rivera able to challenge a call by the NY office?

  2. Anonymous

    October 30, 2023 at 6:13 pm

    Jags at Steelers.
    Q3 10:27. Initial ruling seems to be down by contact, but it appears that replay assist said it was a turnover. Then, they reviewed the ruling on the field in a formal review, and the ruling on the field of a turnover was confirmed. Why was replay assist insufficient?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Advertisement