Some of the officiating news items from Sunday:
- A couple of puzzling replay reviews: Mike Carey allowed a catch to stand, despite clear evidence the pass was incomplete, according to our Roundtable experts [Ben Austro, Football Zebras]. Bill Vinovich ruled a player touched a loose ball with his foot while out of bounds to reverse a fumble recovery.
- Quick calls from Week 9 [Football Zebras]
- “The No. 1 priority in the NFL today is protection from concussions. But, it’s also a fact that some officials seem to get it, while others clearly don’t.” [Mike Pereira, Fox Sports]
- Cowboys receiver Dez Bryant removed his helmet to discuss a call, “then I took my helmet off and I didn’t know that that was a penalty. I was kind of shocked and then I heard the ref say, â€˜He took his helmet off.’ I know now not to take my helmet off.” [John Machotta, Dal Morn News]
- Referee Clete Blakeman accidentally awarded the Saints the coin toss (above) and was corrected by Saints captain Jonathan Vilma. [Image: Michael C. Hebert/New Orleans Saints]
- Chargers had a tight overturn on a touchdown call at the pylon. [CBS Sports]
- Fox Sports analyst (and former Broncos safety) John Lynch on a knee-targeting hit that wasn’t there: “Where are you suppose to hit him? You can’t hit him high. It’s supposed to be below the knees. That’s a good legal hit.” [Bob Raissman, NYDN]
- Apropos of what? “The Eagles are 6-7 (5-4 road) since 2000 when referee Ed Hochuli and his crew officiate their games. Hochuli’s guys called 14 penalties before seemingly shutting it down when the game turned into a rout for the Eagles” [Bob Grotz, Del Co Daily Times]
- Ravens safety James Ihedigbo on Browns receiver Greg Little: “He’s trying to be a tough guy. Some guys who aren’t tough try to prove that they’re tough.” [Jamison Hensley, ESPN]
6 thoughts on “After Further Review: Safety is number 1 priority”
Bill Vinovich’s crew is definitely biased with making Roughing the Passer calls based on the quarterback playing at the time. If it is RGIII or Andrew Luck, breathing on them is a penalty. But if Tony Romo gets hit on the head while on the ground, gets up and complains, he is ignored.
That 3rd and long call last night against the Texans was a game changer. Vinovich’s crew gave the Colts that game.
There’s a twitter rumor: “Carroll says the league told him the PI call on Earl that wiped out INT “Should not have been called””
Any word from the NFL on that? To me, that looks like a textbook example of the arm bar part of the PI rule.
This is going to be in our Roundtable segment. Hope to have a post Thursday night.
Comments are closed.