Football Zebras

Quick calls: Week 16

week16You can follow our coverage on Twitter, and we will also post here some notable calls and describe some of the complicated rulings of the weekend.

If you see something interesting, confusing, or controversial in this week’s games, let’s us know by giving us the quarter and time (if known) and what happened in the comments section below or tweet us.

Some of the more interesting calls we will pose to the Football Zebras Roundtable for expert analysis during the week.

Mon • 1:25 am EDT • Ben Austro

Seahawks at Cardinals (video at :36)

Seahawks kicker Steven Houshka attempts a field goal that ricochets off of the left goalpost and into the arms of Cardinals safety Tony Jefferson. Jefferson started to run with the ball, but the play is dead any time the ball touches the goalposts. The lone exception is a ball may go through the mouth of the goal after hitting the upright and the field goal will count.

Sun • 10:34 pm EDT • Ben Austro

Seahawks at Cardinals

3:42 | 3rd Qtr. No video from the play, but this is how I understand this play: The Cardinals punted with an offensive holding penalty in the end zone. On a punt where the receiving team gets possession (under standard conditions without other complications), the receiving team is allowed to assess a kicking team penalty from the dead-ball spot, in addition to its normal spot specified by the penalty. The Seahawks decided to tack on to the dead-ball spot, rather than the spot of the foul. Had they taken the spot of the foul, it would have been a safety.

The Seahawks got the ball at the Cardinals 45-yard line, rather than taking the two points and losing some field position on the ensuing free kick.

Sun • 8:41 pm EDT • Mark Schultz

Raiders at Chargers (video)

The Walt Anderson crew handles this scrum for the loose ball perfectly.  Even though it looks like chaos, there is a science to officials handling such a scrum.

Sun • 7:29 pm EDT • Mark Schultz

Cardinals at Seahawks (video)

Seahawks receiver Golden Tate fumbles the ball forward several yards and teammate Jermaine Kearse falls on it.  Side judge Larry Rose and head linesman Tom Stabile award the Seahawks the ball at the Kearse spot.  If it had been fourth down or under two-minutes left in the half, the ball would have been returned to the Seahawks at the spot of the Tate fumble; however since neither of those two conditions were met, the Seahawks gained yardage because of the fumble.  You could see Stabile and Rose confer quickly to make sure they were following the rules properly.

Sun • 6:36 pm EDT • Mark Schultz

Steelers at Packers

The blocked Packers field goal with a Steelers penalty is its own post.

Sun • 6:24 pm EDT • Mark Schultz

Colts at Chiefs (video)

Chiefs linebacker Derrick Johnson flagged for a horse collar tackle by head linesman George Hayward.  The NFL has tightened the interpretation of the horse collar tackle over the years, so while this grasp wasn’t directly on the collar between the shoulder blades, it is a flag the NFL wants to see.

Sun • 3:54 pm EDT • Ben Austro

Dolphins at Bills (video)

Bills wide receiver Robert Woods is ejected from the game for landing a right hook in a pile after a routine run. Umpire Garth DeFelice corralled Woods and sent him out before Clete Blakeman announced the ejection.

Sun • 2:55 pm EDT • Mark Schultz

Browns at Jets (video)

Josh Gordon cannot control a 4th and goal touchdown pass.  The side judge initially ruled Gordon out of bounds.  On replay Gordon did get both feet down in bounds, but head linesman Dana McKenzie ruled that Gordon juggled the ball.  On the video you can see McKenzie making the emphatic “juggling” signal.

Sun • 2:10 pm EDT • Mark Schultz

Titans at Jaguars (video)

Jaguars center Brad Meester catches his first ever pass.  Meester lines up as a tight end.  This is a legal play as long as Meester reports to the referee as an eligible receiver, and the referee then announces that the ineligible receiver is eligible for this down.  This play is illegal in NCAA and high school football rules since Meester is wearing an ineligible receiver number (50-79), but legal in the NFL – as long as Meester reports.

Sun • 1:51 pm EDT • Mark Schultz

Colts at Chiefs

12:47 | 2nd qtr.  Colts quarterback Andrew Luck if flushed out of the pocket.  He throws the ball away with no receiver in sight.  Head linesman George Hayward runs to referee Tony Corrente to inform him no receiver was in the vicinity.  Corrente rules that Luck was out of the pocket, thus no intentional grounding flag.  Kansas City could not challenge the “no grounding” call, but the Chiefs did challenge the play thinking that Luck’s knee was down.  After a review, Corrente did rule that Luck’s knee was down.  So, while there was no intentional grounding call, the Chiefs did get the sack.

Sun • 1:02 pm EDT • Football staff

Today’s referee assignments

11 comments for “Quick calls: Week 16

  1. Michael
    December 22, 2013 at 2:31 pm

    IND at KC end of 2nd quarter, booth review of incomplete pass should have resulted in a catch & fumble, but official ruled the call stands.

  2. Sergio
    December 22, 2013 at 5:28 pm

    Patriots at Ravens 8:22 2nd quarter, Ron winter and crew call defensive holding. AFTER announcing the penalty the officials gather to discuss the call then pick up the flag. Aren’t they supposed to sort everything out before making the announcement?

  3. William Driskill
    December 22, 2013 at 5:50 pm

    4th quarter cowboys-redskins. Defensive player for redskins takes off helmet, official throws flag then announces it is a non foul. I’m confused on that one.

  4. mongol
    December 22, 2013 at 6:57 pm

    The Redskin player did not remove his helmet, it fell off. That is why they picked it up.

  5. Sergio
    December 22, 2013 at 7:15 pm

    Patriots at Ravens 11:41 in 4th. Again the officials call a penalty and then change their mind after making the announcement. This time Ravens 74 (Oher) was called for false start and play blown dead. After making the announcement Ron Winter and crew confer and decide the patriots defensive player jumped first.

  6. Michael
    December 22, 2013 at 9:53 pm

    Bears would have been shut out in the first half but for a wrong spot (and therefore incorrect 1st down) at the very end…

  7. mark
    December 23, 2013 at 8:26 am

    Why is no one talking about Manning’s record tying pass to Decker? He bobbled the ball twice and didn’t get 1 foot in bounds once he fully possessed the ball. I figured there would be outrage over it … I’ve found nothing. Because it was a scoring play it had to be reviewed and it stood. I saw one bobble in live speed so how did they miss it in replay???

  8. oly
    December 23, 2013 at 10:46 am

    Brutal officiating in Packer/ Steeler game.

    The Steelers clearly possessed the ball when they ball was pitched back.

    On the false start penalty on the last drive, why did they not reset the clock to 24 seconds when the whistle blew and then take the 10 seconds run-off? Effectively, they let the play run out and then took the 10 seconds. On a false start, shouldn’t the clock have been reset to the time of the penalty?

  9. Brian
    December 23, 2013 at 1:17 pm

    Cowboys/Redskins 3rd and goal near end of game:
    After the Murray loss, ball was spotted at the 10 instead of the 12 where he went down. 2 yards on 4th and Goal is huge. Spot of the ball is not reviewable since it was not relative to first down or goal line.

    Same play, officials picked up a flag for defender removing his helmet. Murray was down at 1:45 and clock stopped at 1:42 for penalty discussion. Cowboys timeout/4th down should have been at 1:05 after 40 second play clock. Instead Dallas was only given a 25 second play clock and took timeout at 1:16.

    Per Rule 4 Section 5 Article 5, the play clock should have been stopped for officials conference and then resumed where it was (not reset to 25). Net result is Redskins gain 11 seconds for their final drive.

  10. Visco
    December 23, 2013 at 6:59 pm

    I agree with Marks’s comment on Eric Decker’s reception of Manning’s 50th TD pass. I’ve been wondering the same thing. How was it, that Hochuli let the play stand as called? The non-reversal was one of the most blatantly bad calls of the day.

  11. Stephen
    December 23, 2013 at 11:35 pm

    I agree with Brian, the helmet coming off distracted the refs and the ball was spotted egregiously at the 10 instead of the 12 or thirteen in the Redskins Cowboys big play. Murray only got in to the end zone by 1 yard. Huge play and no announcer or sports outlet has mentioned it. Any comment zebras?