Football Zebras
CallsMedia tape: Pylon/sideline reviewable, fumble recovery in field of play is not

Media tape: Pylon/sideline reviewable, fumble recovery in field of play is not

NFL vice president of officiating Dean Blandino narrates the weekly media tape on calls from the previous week, which can be downloaded here. Several unusual calls this week under discussion:

  • A Ravens blocked punt recovery beyond the line of scrimmage, as we discussed in the quick calls.
  • A Bills punt was reviewed to see if the ball touched the sideline prior to contacting the pylon.
  • A Bengals touchdown catch with the process of the catch actually ending in the field of play.
  • An apparent fumble recovery by the Panthers was ruled unreviewable.
  • A player who initiates a slide in bounds is ruled down where the first body part other than a hand or foot touches. In this case, the player slid out of bounds, but was first ruled down in bounds, allowing the clock to run.
Ben Austro
Ben Austro
Ben Austro is the editor and founder of Football Zebras and the author of So You Think You Know Football?: The Armchair Ref's Guide to the Official Rules (on sale now)
Top