Connect with us


NFL Competition Committee adds John Elway and Bruce Arians



Per ESPN’s Adam Schefter, league sources confirmed today that Arizona Cardinals head coach Bruce Arians and Denver Broncos executive vice president and general manager John Elway were added to the NFL’s Competition Committee. As of this afternoon, Bruce Arians has not confirmed if he will be joining or not.

The Competition Committee is now a nine-member committee selected by commissioner Roger Goodell and led by chairman (and Atlanta Falcons president) Rich McKay.

The other members of the committee are as follows:

  • John Mara, Giants owner 
  • Stephen Jones, Cowboys owner 
  • Mark Murphy, Packers president 
  • Ozzie Newsome, Ravens general manager 
  • Rick Smith, Texans general manager 
  • Marvin Lewis, Bengals coach 
  • Mike Tomlin, Steelers coach 

Former committee member and Rams head coach Jeff Fisher stepped down from his position on the committee last February, citing that he would take a more team-focused approach to the season after the transition back to Los Angeles. He was removed from the committee list the league provided on March 10.

The Competition Committee meets annually and reviews rules proposals that are submitted to all 32 teams before the NFL Combine. To adopt a new rule or revision, the support of 75% of the owners (24 yes votes from 32 teams) is required.

Continue Reading