(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({ google_ad_client: "ca-pub-3070301786099382", enable_page_level_ads: true });
Football Zebras
CallsQuick calls: Week 2

Quick calls: Week 2

We will update this post with some of the key calls from Week 2. See something that needs our attention? Hit us in the comments section of this post or tweet us @footballzebras.

See this post for the referee assignments we have confirmed.

[liveblog]

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});
Ben Austro
Ben Austro is the editor and founder of Football Zebras and the author of So You Think You Know Football?: The Armchair Ref's Guide to the Official Rules (on sale now)

4 thoughts on “Quick calls: Week 2

  1. Jets v. Steelers, Steelers fumble was not called, Jets challenge, refs uphold ruling on the field… even though it was clearly a fumble, and even though the ball carrier’s knee had touched the ground well before the fumble. So instead of ruling it a fumble, which it was, it should have been ruled that the ball carrier was down when his knee had touched, earlier in the play? How can these guys LOOK at the video and “miss” 2 rulings that are clear on the video, that they missed on the field?

    It’s ridiculous when the refs get to use video to determine if they made the correct call, and STILL get it wrong.

    But then again, even the regular NFL refs using replays during a challenge refuse to overturn their calls on a regular basis. Even when it’s clear to the world that a call should be overturned. Is it ego or something more sinister?

    There’s something fishy in the NFL, and there has been for a long time.

  2. Have you looked into one of the last call of the game in the tamp vs ny game, where on the last buccaneer drive there was a call called complete pass, then the receiver steps out of bounds and loses the ball. I was wondering what your thoughts were on that.

  3. @Christian, under the rules for the “process of the catch” Williams did not have the ball secure long enough after the second foot came down. The hit by the cornerback is irrelevant. Therefore it was correctly overturned as incomplete pass.

Comments are closed.

Top