(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({ google_ad_client: "ca-pub-3070301786099382", enable_page_level_ads: true });
Football Zebras
CallsLive Blog: Lions at Saints

Live Blog: Lions at Saints

NFC Wild Card

Watch our commentary live here at FootballZebras.com and on Twitter @footballzebras. New entries should appear automatically, but click refresh in your browser if you don’t see live blog updates. To interact, tweet us or use the comments section of this post.

Today’s officials are listed at the end of the post.

[liveblog]

  • R — #99 Tony Corrente (17th year, 14th as referee)
  • U — #31 Chad Brown (20th year)*
  • HL — #5 John McGrath (10th year)
  • LJ — #130 Darryll Lewis (13th year)
  • FJ — #60 Gary Cavaletto (9th year)
  • SJ — #56 Allen Baynes (4th year)
  • BJ — #119 Greg Wilson (4th year)
  • Alternates — Terry McAulay (#77, R), David Wyant (#16, SJ from Jeff Triplette’s crew)

 

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});
Ben Austro
Ben Austro is the editor and founder of Football Zebras and the author of So You Think You Know Football?: The Armchair Ref's Guide to the Official Rules (on sale now)

3 thoughts on “Live Blog: Lions at Saints

  1. Refs have it out for lions, it’s all the NFL that game was rigged makes me sick let em it makes me sick how they rule against lions tonight and against green bay I’m happy coach finally said something on the interview

  2. On forth and short Drew Brees jumped up and extended the ball across the first down line. However, he pulled the ball back on his own before being tackled or pushed back. I don’t think they should have given the Saints forward progress since he pulled the ball back on his own. this is different from a player extending the ball over the goal line. In that case as soon as he does this the play is dead. What do the zebras think?

  3. mm, you are correct, this is different than a goal line play. The first replay seemed to be right on the line to gain, and Brees had the first down even after he pulled the ball back to his body. The second replay, from the opposite side of the field was not lined up the same; the camera is about a yard and a half beyond the sticks, and gives the false impression that Brees pulled it back from the line to gain.

    If it had been that he pulled it back to his body, thus pulling the ball behind the line to gain, you could call it short of the first down. I don’t know if any official would dare make that call, however.

Comments are closed.

Top