Football Zebras™

Live blog: Ravens at Patriots

2012 AFC Championship

afc_champWe will be live blogging the calls and rules interpretations from the Ravens-Patriots game. (If you see continue reading below, click it to see the entire feed.)

If you have any questions or comments, use the comments section of this post, or tweet us @footballzebras.

Today’s crew is headed by Bill Leavy. The full crew list is at the bottom of this post.

Mark Schultz
Sun Jan 1 • 2:57 pm EST

Browns at Steelers (video)

Very tough call for wing officials Ron Marinucci and Wayne Mackie and DeAngelo Williams barely gets the ball out of the endzone to avoid a safety.

To avoid a safety the entire ball has to break the goal line and get into the field of play. 

Excellent positioning by Mackie and Marinucci to break back to the goal line. There were in great position to rule on the Williams run.

Mark Schultz
Fri Dec 30 • 8:19 pm EST

12:52 | 1st qtr.

First foul of the night. Pass interference on Michigan thrown by the back judge. Easy call.

 

Mark Schultz
Fri Dec 30 • 8:10 pm EST

Beautiful night for a ballgame! 60-degrees and clear.

Referee Matt Austin leads the Southeastern Conference officiating crew.

FYI, the NCAA always assigns neutral crews to officiate bowl games. Up until about 25-years ago, there would be a split crew between the conferences playing in the bowl game.

Matt Holmquist
Sat Dec 24 • 7:08 pm EST

49ers at Rams (video)

49ers running back Carlos Hyde caught a short pass from quarterback Colin Kaepernick and subsequently dropped the ball. Walt Anderson and crew officiated the play as if it was a catch and fumble, but later ruled that the pass was incomplete. This was challenged by the Rams. It was determined that Hyde caught the pass, turned upfield and fumbled the ball, and that there was a clear recovery by the Rams; therefore the call on the field was reversed.

Matt Holmquist
Sat Dec 24 • 6:47 pm EST

Colts at Raiders

Ed Hochuli (and crew) flagged Derek Carr for intentional grounding. This is a “crew call”, where the officials near the pass bring information to the referee who then combines that with what he has seen and makes the determination. Carr threw the ball with no receiver even close to being in the vicinity. However, it didn’t appear that Carr was under pressure, which is a necessary element to the penalty.

Hochuli’s announcement of the rule was not incorrect: after Carr protested (picked up by the stadium mic) that his receiver ran the wrong route, Hochuli explained that the intent of the receiver does not matter when determining if he was in the vicinity.

Matt Holmquist
Sat Dec 24 • 5:35 pm EST

Buccaneers at Saints

On a punt by the Buccaneers to the Saints, Buccaneers DB Ryan Smith was forced out of bounds on the coverage. By rule, if forced out, a kicking team player must return in bounds in a “reasonable amount of time.” Instead of this, Smith juked as if he was coming back in bounds and continued to run out of bounds in an attempt to get around Saints blockers. This is, by rule, enforced as an unsportsmanlike conduct foul.

Mark Schultz
Sat Dec 24 • 5:02 pm EST

Colts at Raiders

Chippy start to the game. Ed Hochuli flags offsetting personal fouls. The crew is pinching in on just about every play to snuff out any tinderboxes. Hochuli was also seen scolding two players who were threatening fisticuffs. It will be a busy game for the crew.

Ben Austro
Sat Dec 24 • 4:44 pm EST

Vikings at Packers (video)

Line judge Sarah Thomas had to leave the game, presumably to be evaluated for a concussion, after being mixed up in a sideline tackle. Thomas returned later in the game.

Matt Holmquist
Sat Dec 24 • 4:11 pm EST

Dolphins at Bills (video)

The Dolphins kicked a field goal to tie and send the game to overtime with 6 seconds remaining. Bills coach Rex Ryan realized that he only has 10 defensive players, attempted to call timeout and “ice” Dolphins kicker Andrew Franks, but did not call timeout in time. After the play, Ryan was quite flustered, protesting that he called timeout. Broadcast replays confirmed that the timing of his request was indeed too late.

Bills cornerback Corey White (#30) can be seen signaling timeout before the snap. However, he was in very close proximity to (although also behind) the side judge. If he was verbalizing “time out”, he would have at least gotten the official’s attention, but appeared to simply signal it in the general direction of the sideline. The signal itself does not grant a timeout – players or coaches must be recognized by the official.

Mark Schultz
Sat Dec 24 • 3:15 pm EST

Titans at Jaguars (video)

Jason Myers hit a 56-yard field goal. While it’s an exciting play, the officials are calm when signalling. Even though they exhibit a cool facade, making big calls is fun for the officials.

Mark Schultz
Sat Dec 24 • 2:46 pm EST

Vikings at Packers (video)

Sarah Thomas calls this closer-than-it-looks Aaron Rodgers touchdown scramble.

Ben Austro
Sat Dec 24 • 2:26 pm EST

Washington at Chicago (video)

Bears quarterback Matt Barkley throws into triple coverage and is intercepted at the goal line by cornerback Bashaud Breeland. The call on the field was that the interception occurred in the end zone.

The review showed that Breeland was touched on the helmet on his way to the ground, which puts him down by contact by rule.

Without the contact, however, the same ruling would be made. Since Breeland lands in the field of play, this is where the interception occurred under the intercepting momentum rule. This means, if the ball is intercepted at the 1, a player’s momentum cannot carry him into the end zone for a touchback. If he doesn’t attempt to advance from the end zone, the momentum exception reverts the change of possession back to the 1-yard line.

Ben Austro
Sat Dec 24 • 12:00 pm EST

Today’s officials

Substitutions

  • U 81 Roy Ellison* to Coleman’s crew (SD-CLE)
  • LJ 101 Carl Johnson to Blakeman’s crew (NYG-PHI/Thurs.)
  • FJ 95 James Coleman* to Cheffers’ crew (CIN-HOU)
  • SJ 89 Jon Lucivansky* to Corrente’s crew (DEN-KC/Sunday night)
  • BJ 39 Rich Martinez to Morelli’s crew (TEN-JAX)

*Swing officials that are moved between crews each week.

      Yr. Crew College Occupation
R 127 Bill Leavy 18 Leavy San Jose State retired firefighter
U 31 Chad Brown 21 Carey East Texas State executive manager of facilities/student affairs administration
HL 36 Tony Veteri 21 Blakeman Manhattan College physical education teacher
LJ 45 Jeff Seeman 11 Steratore Minnesota brokerage sales
SJ 67 Doug Rosenbaum 12 Carey Illinois Wesleyan financial consultant
FJ 88 Scott Steenson 22 Winter North Texas commercial real estate broker
BJ 46 Perry Paganelli 15 Parry Hope College retired high school administrator
  • Alternates: Ron Winter (upfield), Rusty Baynes (line), Terrence Miles (deep)
  • Replay official: Mark Burns
  • Replay assistant: Ted Campbell
  • Supervisor: Johnny Grier
  • Observer: Gary Slaughter

10 comments for “Live blog: Ravens at Patriots

  1. rwmelton
    January 20, 2013 at 6:55 pm

    Referee Leavy doesnt’t have an “R” on the back of his uniform. Any idea why this is?

  2. Ben Austro
    January 20, 2013 at 6:57 pm

    Saw this last week with one of the HLs. Loose thread and the letter panel fell off in the wash? No idea

  3. Mike
    January 20, 2013 at 7:45 pm

    Non of the replacement officials had position plackacts. But they were last years style. All of the current uniforms, the number and position are part of the screening process, so nothing to fall off

  4. Ben Austro
    January 20, 2013 at 7:53 pm

    It’s definitely not a replacement uni, because they had a different font for the number. Yes, I notice those things.

  5. Mike
    January 20, 2013 at 7:57 pm

    Yea that’s what I mention by last years style. The font was different. And the crew that worked the Balt game on the first Thursday back had last years uniform. I notice too

  6. Ben Austro
    January 20, 2013 at 7:59 pm

    OK, got your comment now. I have so many things open at once here. Thanks for noticing, too. Makes me seem less crazy

  7. Dennis
    January 21, 2013 at 6:23 pm

    Any comment on the Pitta non-call right before his TD catch? Looked like helmet-to-helmet to me.

  8. Ben Austro
    January 21, 2013 at 8:02 pm

    Yes, I agree. I was looking for a video link, and I think I found one.

  9. Mr. Matt (@Mr_Matt)
    January 23, 2013 at 9:23 am

    Leavy may have announced the wrong number, but you named the wrong player. The Ravens Safety is Bernard Pollard, not Troy Pollard.

  10. Ben Austro
    January 23, 2013 at 2:35 pm

    Woah! And we duplicated it on the follow-up post. Thanks for the correction.

    POSTS CORRECTED