Football Zebras
20202020 PostseasonThere are 10 first-time playoff officials on the field this weekend

There are 10 first-time playoff officials on the field this weekend

Embed from Getty Images

10 NFL officials are calling their first ever playoff game on the field this weekend. Three of those officials have a playoff game in their first year eligible for the postseason.

The following officials are working on the field for the first time. In parentheses are prior alternate or Pro Bowl assignments.

  • Down judge #106 Patrick Holt (first year eligible)
  • Side judge #107 Dave Hawkshaw (first year eligible). Hawkshaw was in the CFL from 2005-18 and worked the Grey Cup championship game in 2015 and 2017.
  • Field judge #42 Nate Jones (first year eligible)
  • Side judge #58 Don Willard (second year eligible, alternate last year, pictured above)
  • Back judge #67 Tony Josselyn (second year eligible)
  • Line judge #40 Brian Bolinger (third year eligible, previous alternate)
  • Down judge #113 Danny Short (third year eligible, two alternates)
  • Line judge #75 Mark Stewart (second year eligible, alternate last year)
  • Side judge #26 Jabir Walker (sixth year eligible, one previous alternate and Pro Bowl assignment)
  • Umpire #54 Steve Woods (second year eligible, alternate last year)

Best wishes to all the officials in the Wild Card round this weekend!

Mark Schultz
Mark Schultz is a high school football official, freelance writer and journalist. He first became interested in officiating when he was six years old, was watching a NFL game with his father and asked the fateful question, "Dad, what are those guys in the striped shirts doing?"

Similar Articles

3 thoughts on “There are 10 first-time playoff officials on the field this weekend

  1. Jabir Walker got one alternate and one Pro Bowl assignment in hi first five seasons of playoff eligibility. Why is he still an NFL official?

  2. Jabir Walker had 2 probowls,A wild card and some alternates and I think that he is a good official

Comments are closed.