You are here
Football Zebras > Calls > Live blog: Bengals at Texans

Live blog: Bengals at Texans

Wildcard_10AFC Wild Card

We will be live blogging the calls and rules interpretations from the Bengals-Texans game. (If you see continue reading below, click it to see the entire feed.)

If you have any questions or comments, use the comments section of this post, or tweet us @footballzebras.

Today’s crew is headed by Alberto Riveron. The full crew list is at the bottom of this post.


         Yr. Crew College Occupation
R 57 Alberto Riveron 9    Miami sales, commercial restaurant equipment
U 11 Fred Bryan 4 Corrente Northern Iowa superintendent, juvenile correctional facility
HL 48 Jim Mello 9 Riveron Northeastern facilities manager
LJ 108 Gary Arthur 16 Winter Wright State president, commercial printing company
FJ 33 Steve Zimmer 16 Riveron Hofstra attorney
SJ 58 Jimmy DeBell 4 Riveron SUNY-Brockport high school teacher
BJ 12 Greg Steed 10 Winter Howard computer systems analyst
(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({}); (adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});
Ben Austro
Ben Austro is the editor and founder of Football Zebras and the author of So You Think You Know Football?: The Armchair Ref's Guide to the Official Rules (on sale now)

Similar Articles

7 thoughts on “Live blog: Bengals at Texans

  1. About the Texans challenging the forward pass ruling in the 3rd quarter contending that it was a fumble. I don’t remember which team, if any, actually went after the ball but I do remember seeing a referee blowing his whistle and waving his arms as if to signal that the play was over. IF the play had been overturned would the whislte-blowing referee’s action been an issue? Should the Texans had been able to challenge once his whistle had been blown? The correct call was made but what if was later ruled a fumble? Would the Bengals have any recourse if they brought to the attention of the referees that, “Hey, the whistle was blown therefore we did not go after the ball”? Thank you in advance.

  2. The rule was changed in 2009 that, if there is a clear and immediate recovery, the whistle can be disregarded for the recovery. The recovery must be seen by replay — there cannot be a scrum for the ball. This was worked in to the rulebook after Ed Hochuli’s terribly unfortunate inadvertent whistle on an incomplete pass that should have been a fumble recovery.

    No matter if the whistle actually blew or not, an incomplete pass that is reversed to a fumble can only give the recovering team the ball at the point of recovery. There cannot be any runback allowed.

    The Texans did recover the ball immediately, so if Dalton was ruled to have an empty hand while passing in replay (i.e., fumble), the Texans would have been awarded possession at the point of recovery.

  3. What of the block in the back on Peko during one of the texans screen plays . The amount of times that Geno Atkins got held too,sure hope he got his wallet back after the muggings he took.

Comments are closed.