Football Zebras™

Tag: Titans

Roundtable: ‘Communication breakdown’ drives Colts insane on Bengals drive to ruin

Snowy conditions make one grade inconclusive Football Zebras Roundtable As the snow blew through four games this weekend, there were a flurry of close, questionable, and controversial calls. To help us understand the Week 14 calls, former officiating supervisors Larry Upson and Jim Daopoulos took a look at a few plays. It does not look…

Safety calls, roughness on QB: Roundtable reviews Week 5 calls

Football Zebras Roundtable We had a few calls this week that were borderline judgement calls. How close were they? Former NFL officiating supervisors Jim Daopoulos and Larry Upson helped us unpack three controversial calls from Week 5. Both Larry and Jim did extensive game video while working in the league office. Their analysis determined the…

After Further Review: Even Philly thinks Giants should have won challenge

Image: Dallas Cowboys photo First, our quick calls [Football Zebras] The pink penalty flags did cause some confusion with the players’ pink towels, all symbolic for Breast Cancer Awareness Month. However, a clock operator briefly stopped the clock because one of the pink towels looked like a penalty flag. I wouldn’t be surprised if this…

Pereira: Officials botch two penalty enforcements in Week 3

Last year it was a rash of inadvertent whistles.  This year the officials are having trouble enforcing penalties.  Former NFL vice president for officiating and current Fox Sports rules analyst Mike Pereira says the officials missed two penalty enforcements in two different games on Sunday. Pereira broke down the play in Minneapolis where Bill Leavy’s crew…

After Further Review: Teamwork saves crew on 1st play of season

A roundup of the calls from Sunday Bill Leavy’s crew has a very visible downgrade coming their way. The attention it received swooned mostly due to the fact that Mike Pereira — Leavy’s former boss and current Fox Sports rules analyst — pointed it out during the game broadcast and that the ensuing play scored…