Follow-up
Rams – Seahawks incomplete pass-turned-backward-pass-recovery-for-two-points properly ruled
Initially ruled an incomplete pass, replay rules a successful two point conversion in the Seahawks-Rams Week 16 game.
The Week 16 game between the Los Angeles Rams and the Seattle Seahawks featured a rare pass/fumble replay ruling that awarded the Seahawks a touchdown after the officials blew the whistle and ruled in incomplete pass.
With 6:23 left in the fourth quarter, the Seahawks scored a touchdown to make the score 30-28. The Seahawks lined up for a tying two-point conversion. Quarterback Sam Darnold threw a backward pass. The Rams batted the pass and the ball flew forward, and rolled into the end zone. A Seahawks player picked the ball up, but the officials were blowing the whistle ruling the pass incomplete.
Forward or backward?
All two point conversion plays are subject to review, so there was no challenge needed.
The first question was to determine whether or not Darnold’s pass was forward or backward. Replay was clear that it was a backward pass. Even though the the Rams player batted the ball forward, the direction of the bat in immaterial. The initial direction of the pass is what’s to rule on. It was a backward pass.
And a backward pass is a live ball.
What about the whistle?
When the officials (incorrectly) ruled the pass forward, they blew the whistle while the ball was rolling into the endzone. Zach Charbonnet picked the ball up while in the endzone – which is important as the play went to replay review.
Normally this would be an inadvertent whistle, but Rule 15-2-3 allows for some continuing action.
When the on-field ruling results in a dead ball (e.g., score, down by contact, incomplete pass, etc.), and following replay review, it is determined that possession was lost before the ball should have been ruled dead, possession may be awarded to a player who clearly recovers a loose ball in the immediate continuing action. A loose ball that touches out of bounds is deemed a clear recovery by the player who last possessed the ball.
As the officials were blowing the whistle, Carbonnet picked up the ball in the endzone. The ruling was backward pass, live ball deflected into the endzone, picked up by the offense, successful two point conversion.
After the review, Referee Brad Allen made a much-anticipated announcement.
It was a crazy play, initially ruled incorrectly. But the rules and instant replay review allowed the officials to correct things and the Seahawks tied the game.
Discover more from Football Zebras
Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.



