Connect with us


Earnie Frantz is the recipient of the 2020 Art McNally Award

Former head linesman Earnie Frantz has been presented with the 2020 Art McNally Award.



Earnie Frantz, former NFL head linesman (now down judge) and replay official, has been awarded the 2020 Art McNally Award, Football Zebras has confirmed through multiple sources. The Art McNally Award is named after the former head of officiating from 1968 to 1990, and recognizes an official for “exemplary professionalism, leadership and commitment to sportsmanship on and off the field.”  The NFL began this award in 2002. The award was presented at this year’s virtual officiating clinic; in previous seasons the award was handed out at the Pro Bowl.

Frantz, an official in the NFL from 1981 to 2001, wore number 14 in his rookie season, which was the final year of the league’s failed re-numbering system, then wore the number 111 throughout the remainder of his career. Frantz earned 17 postseason assignments in his career, including 6 Wild Card Playoffs, 3 Divisional Playoffs, 5 Conference Championships, and Super Bowls XXIV, XXXI, and XXXIV.

Following his retirement from on-field officiating, he became a replay official, having worked in that position from 2007 until his recent retirement following the 2019 season.

Congratulations to Earnie Frantz on receiving this well-deserved honor.

2020 HL 111 Earnie Frantz 21
2019 R 127 Bill Leavy 20
2018 U 110 Ron Botchan 22
2017 R 32 Jim Tunney 31
2016 R 9 Jerry Markbreit 23
2015 R 43 Red Cashion 25
2014 R 135 Pete Morelli 22
2013 FJ 106 Al Jury 28
2012 SJ-FJ 61 Dick Creed 21
2011 LJ 56 Ronnie Baynes 14
2010 BJ 17 Bob Lawing* 13
2009 BJ 122 Bill Schmitz 21
2008 R 63 Bill Carollo 20
2007 FJ 98 Bill Lovett 18
2006 R 20 Larry Nemmers 23
2005 R 34 Gerry Austin 26
2004 SJ 47 Tom Fincken 24
2003 LJ 117 Ben Montgomery 22
2002 R 95 Bob McElwee 27

*awarded posthumously

Cam Filipe is a forensic scientist and has been involved in football officiating for 12 years. Cam is in his fourth season as a high school football official. This is his ninth season covering NFL officiating for Football Zebras.

Continue Reading