Calls
Week 12 officiating video: Double/after enforcement on punts, replay reversals are down

- Defenseless player safety for snappers during field goals and extra points will continue to be a focus. Remember, a snapper during a field-goal or extra-point attempt has the same defenseless player protections throughout the play and cannot be hit by an opponent with direct, forcible contact to the head or neck area. If flagged, it’s a 15-yard penalty.
- In the Thursday night game between the Chiefs at Raiders, the Raiders sacked the quarterback and then celebrated in the Chiefs backfield, yards behind the quarterback. When the Chiefs lined up to snap the ball, the Raider defenders were still in the backfield, and then immediately called a time out. If they hadn’t called timeout, the play – if snapped – would have been blown dead. Think of the unabated to the quarterback rule, here.
- Also during the same game, Blandino also reviewed the difference between eligible and ineligible receivers. During a downfield pass play, the field judge released his hat to signal the Raiders receiver had stepped out of bounds. Before reestablishing himself in bounds, he was interfered with by a Chiefs defender. However, once a receiver steps out of bounds, he is then an ineligible receiver, and by rule, cannot be interfered with after the fact. Though the pass interference flag was thrown, John Parry’s crew conferenced and picked up the flag as the receiver was out of bounds. (There is an exception for a player who is out of bounds due to a foul, which did not apply here.)
- The basic foundation of instant replay is to determine if, after a challenged or reviewable play, there is indisputable evidence to overturn a call on the field, not to re-officiate a call. The NFL has been sticking to this standard and we see that reversals are down this season throughout the league. It is especially critical to determine possession and/or ball placement when the entire ball can be seen in the replay, as well as the exact position of the player. In New Orleans last Sunday night, this was key to a possession call when the Ravens visited the Saints which stood in replay due to inconclusive evidence.
Discover more from Football Zebras
Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.
Continue Reading