Week 13, 2025
Kickoff from the 50 opens weird options for double fouls
A penalty on the kickoff, plus an option for— uh, this is getting complicated

The new kickoff rules have opened up some unusual penalty enforcements, which kickers have attempted to exploit.
On Thanksgiving, after the enforcement of the roughing the passer penalty from the previous 2-point conversion, the Cowboys were kicking off from the 50-yard line.
In these situations, the setup zone and the landing zone remain the same, just the kicker is closer to the formation. In rules videos sent to the teams, NFL officiating’s Walt Anderson explained that a kickoff out of bounds (before being touched by the receiving team) is enforced 25 yards from the spot of the kick (slightly different for safety kicks). On a kickoff from the 35 that goes out of bounds, that gives the receiving team the ball at the 40.
When the kickoff is from the 50, tactically, this opens up an opportunity for the kicker. If the ball is aimed for the landing zone near the pylon, there is a chance to force the receiving team to field the ball or accept a favorable spot for the kicking team. If the kicker drops the ball in the landing zone near the sideline, and if the receiver opts to not field it, the ball will likely go into the end zone for a short touchback (20-yard line) or out of bounds (25-yard line). It also forces the receiver to make a decision to field this kick, and potentially be stopped short of either spot.
The Cowboys did exactly that, except Jalen Tolbert sprang into action too soon. By rule, the ball has to hit the ground or a player before the kicking and receiving team players in the setup zone can move, otherwise it is an illegal formation foul. Tolbert started downfield at the kick, and realized his error shortly after. A flag was thrown at the setup zone and one downfield for a kickoff out of bounds. Referee John Hussey had two fouls signals that were of the unusual “illegal procedure” variety.
The Chiefs had to choose one penalty or the other, and that’s where it gets wonky. They could accept the kick out of bounds and get the ball at the 25. They could accept the illegal formation at the out-of-bounds spot — from the 10-yard line? nope — or force a rekick, which they opted for. This still placed the kick at the Cowboys 45, and a subsequent kick-out-of-bounds would go to the Chiefs 30, and losing a lot of the advantages of the previous kick. The second kick was fielded at the 5 and returned to the 38.
Discover more from Football Zebras
Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.





