Connect with us


Green heads Pro Bowl crew in his final game



ProBowl2014 Scott Green will head the Pro Bowl crew from Hawaii on Sunday. As the sun sets on paradise, so will also end Green’s 23-year NFL career. Side judge Larry Rose is retiring after the game, also.

The Pro Bowl assignment goes to officials that did not have a postseason game, although five members of this crew worked as alternates in the playoffs. The league first reviews union requests for assignments; in many cases, these are retiring officials or to commemorate certain individuals. After that, the league assigns a non-playoff official in the remaining positions to the most senior available official who has not done a Hawaii game since 2001. (The 2009 Pro Bowl in Miami is not counted.)

      Yr. Crew College Occupation
R 19 Scott Green 23   Delaware president, government support services
U 70 Scott Dawson 19 McAulay Virginia Tech president/owner, commercial construction company
HL 74 Derick Bowers 11 Parry East Central sales representative
LJ 130 Darryll Lewis 15 Corrente Dartmouth associate professor
FJ 20 Barry Anderson 7 Triplette North Carolina State builder/developer
SJ 128 Larry Rose 17 Green Florida financial planner
BJ 93 Scott Helverson 11 Green Iowa sales, printing and promotions
ALT 14 Ron Winter 19   Michigan State university professor

Ben Austro is the editor and founder of Football Zebras and the author of So You Think You Know Football?: The Armchair Ref's Guide to the Official Rules (on sale now)

Continue Reading