Week 15, 2025
Rams TD, apparently short of the goal, ‘stands’ in replay
Colby Parkinson has a knee down at the 1, so why no overturn?

It is definitely a head scratcher, and Fox Sports rules analyst Dean Blandino called the ruling “a stretch.”
Late in the third quarter, Rams quarterback Matthew Stafford found tight end Colby Parkinson at the goal line, who snagged a catch while sliding into the end zone. Because it is a scoring play, the replay booth will review the play. Initial looks show Parkinson with his knee down in the field of play with the ball at the 1, which lead most people — us included — to expected this would be a quick overturn to be short of the goal line.
Since I am still explaining this, we can already tell that that expectation was not met.
Before explaining the replay ruling, we must remember how replay works under the philosophy that they are not re-officiating the play. They are not confirming the call on the field, but looking for clear and obvious evidence that the call on the field is incorrect.
In evaluating the touchdown call, the replay official “sees smoke” — replay terminology that there’s a reviewable element of the play that needs further scrutiny. The knee down at the 1 is fairly clear and obvious evidence of being short, but replay must also establish possession of the pass by Parkinson. Possession, as we know, is not a momentary freeze-frame, it is a process that requires an element of time to complete that process.
Replay determined that the ball was moving in Parkinson’s hand, and therefore calling into question whether he did have possession when his knee was down. The ball goes out of view and then Parkinson is seen with complete control in the end zone. At no point is there evidence that the ball touched the ground, which would render the pass incomplete.
A receiver can have the ball move in his hand slightly if continuous control is maintained. Replay felt that there was separation, or at least a doubt cast that they could overturn the call on the field. Importantly, it was not a confirmation that a touchdown was the correct call, only that they did not feel the evidence was clear and obvious under the replay standards. Therefore, the call on the field stands. The same standard has this same play, if ruled short of the end zone on the field, not being overturned to a touchdown, which can be an unsatisfying answer to many fans.
Blandino — who was on the NFL replay staff when these standards were established in 1999 — was tasked with explaining this to the home audience, but he was not in favor of the ruling. To me, it does appear to be a hypertechnical ruling to go with “stands,” as there seems to be a strong case for continuous possession.
In the end, replay is a tool, but it is the claw end of the hammer, not the business end of the hammer. Even though it looks like a touchdown, the process, for all its benefits and flaws, did not allow for a reversal here.
Discover more from Football Zebras
Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.



