Embed from Getty Images  Based solely upon the rules of an inadvertent whistle, it would appear that the Big 12 officiating crew ruled correctly in a sticky situation in the Belk Bowl. However, when replay rules are considered, the ball should have been awarded to Virginia Tech. Happening when an official sounds their
Tag: inadvertent whistle
R Ron Winter retires after 19 seasons
Football Zebras exclusive Football Zebras has learned that Ron Winter will not be returning for the 2014 season, according to several sources. Winter is the sixth official to retire at the conclusion of the 2013 season and the second from the referee position. Those six retiring officials all worked in the final
Don’t fix inadvertent whistle by pretending it never happened
Week 12 ‘Official Review’: Turkey Day replay, 4th & 29 measure, quick whistle
video 1 (streaming) | video 2 (streaming) | video 3 (222 MB download) Busy, busy Week 12 in officiating, so let's look at what the officiating department is discussing for "Official Review." NFL director of officiating and head of instant replay Dean Blandino has the calls: On Thanksgiving Day, the obvious missed
Green crew should’ve shut down ugly play
Whistle while you work, NFL referee style
After further review, LJ blew inadvertent whistle, but admitted it to offended coach
We are examining the video of the inadvertent whistle from the Raiders-Bengals game, and have confirmed that the line judge was responsible for terminating the play. Because the highlight video on NFL.com does not clearly illustrate the inadvertent whistle, we have the video the help of friend of the site, Timothy
Inadvertent whistle play should have been blown dead before it was blown dead
Officials need to own up to mistakes
Despite inadvertent whistle, Panthers TD is allowed to stand, incorrectly
Week 9: Panthers at Redskins (video) Another Redskins game where DeAngelo causes an officiating problem. No, DeAngelo Hall, the Redskins cornerback, did not raise another ruckus. Rather DeAngelo Williams, the Panthers running back, was given a touchdown, which should have been the call, while at the same time should not have