Football Zebras
CallsQuick calls: Week 6

Quick calls: Week 6

Keep checking here for rolling coverage throughout the day on Sunday. If you see anything confusing, unusual, or controversial, please let us know.

Mark Schultz
Sun Oct 16 • 8:22 pm EDT

Falcons at Seahawks (video)

Controversy mars the end of the game as the Falcons are driving for a game winning field goal. Julio Jones goes up to catch a pass, but is defended by Richard Sherman.img_20161016_194136736_hdr.jpg

The first hint of possible defensive pass interference (DPI) is when the receiver only gets one arm up to catch a pass. Receivers are not taught the one-armed catch technique. So, if they go up with one arm, there is a good chance the defender is grabbing the other arm and the official should look hard for DPI.

Jones was only able to get one arm up and replay shows Sherman with an arm bar.

The official in the photo at the right is straight-lined on this call, and cannot see the through Sherman. The other deep wing or the back judge have the best chance to get this foul. 

Update 10/17: The back judge had this view of the interference.

Catch calls

NFL Football Operations video on two catch-process rulings in replay.

Celebration fouls

These fouls are covered in the liveblog below, but senior VP of officiating Dean Blandino also addressed two celebration fouls assessed correctly during the games today.

 

 
Ben Austro
Mon Oct 17 • 12:17 am EDT

 

Colts at Texans (video)

This T.Y. Hilton reception skipped off the turf before he caught it. The replay official caught it, and it was overturned in review.

Ben Austro
Sun Oct 16 • 6:18 pm EDT

 

Cowboys at Packers

img_20161016_180405502.jpgWith 2:40 remaining in the second quarter, umpire Fred Bryan was correctly holding up the snap until the Cowboys had a chance to match up with the Packers subs. The Cowboys had 12 on the field, but this is not up to the officials to extend the substitution period, since they were afforded reasonable time to complete the substitutions. While the 12th player ran to the sideline, a Cowboys linebacker panicked and signaled timeout, but the Cowboys were out of timeouts.

Unfortunately, the timeout was inadvertently granted, which referee Brad Allen owned the fact that he made the error in his announcement. This is part of the basic bookkeeping of the game that officials must be aware of.

This was the first use of a new rule, which makes an improperly called timeout a delay of game foul, but only if the official erroneously grants the timeout. Packers fans are rightly upset that they should have had a “free play,” in that the 12-man foul would have been a live-ball foul. (Only if the 12th man remained in formation would this be a snap-killing foul.) And officials should be upset that this rule exists in the first place, because it is only enforced upon their error.

Mark Schultz
Sun Oct 16 • 5:56 pm EDT

 

Cowboys at Packers (video)

Back judge Shawn Hochuli correctly rules a Jordy Nelson catch and fumble.

Mark Schultz
Sun Oct 16 • 5:50 pm EDT

 

Browns at Titans (video)

In high school and college, this is an illegal blind side block. But in the NFL, this is nothing because the blockee was not defenseless and contact was shoulder to chest. If the blocker lead with his head or contacted the helmet, it would have been a flag. (Also, blocks below the knee are prohibited in these circumstances.) This was penalized, although there was no illegal contact; the flag likely drawn on the basis of the head movement.

I predict we will see the NFL adopt the illegal blind side block rule in the future.

h/t Matt McCombs

Mark Schultz
Sun Oct 16 • 5:44 pm EDT

 

Ravens at Giants (video)

Tavon Young picks off Eli Manning. On this play the Giants wanted a pass interference call on Young. We see the field judge reaching for his flag, but it is ruled incidental contact. 

On replay, while Young had his arm around the receiver’s waist, it did not appear that the receiver was held up running his route. 

This is close, but it looks like a good incidental contact call.

Mark Schultz
Sun Oct 16 • 5:13 pm EDT

 

Bengals at Patriots (video)

Ron Torbert’s crew didn’t put up with any nonsense today. Rob Gronkowski got into a verbal altercation that threatened to get physical on two successive plays. When Gronk started barking at the Bengals’ sideline, field judge Aaron Santi threw a much-deserved unsportsmanlike conduct flag on the Patriots’ tight end.

This got Gronk one foot out of the ball game. If he had received another unsportsmanlike conduct foul, he would have been ejected.

Mark Schultz
Sun Oct 16 • 5:04 pm EDT

 

Ravens at Giants (video)

Odell Beckham Jr. scores a go-ahead touchdown late in the game. The officials called Beckham for a penalty for removing his helmet in the end zone. This was probably their easiest call of the game.

Mark Schultz
Sun Oct 16 • 4:59 pm EDT

 

Panthers at Saints (video)

Cam Newton races to the pylon stretches the ball over the plane and is properly awarded a touchdown by line judge Byron Boston. Boston properly backed up as far as he could, to get a wide perspective of the play.

Mark Schultz
Sun Oct 16 • 4:50 pm EDT

 

Bengals at Patriots (video)

LeGarrette Blount scores a touchdown. Then he comes out of the pile mixing it up with some Bengals players. Ron Torbert’s crew quickly restores order and flags Blount for a personal foul. 

For a second, I thought an official signaled Blount was ejected, but Torbert didn’t announce that Blount was banished.

Mark Schultz
Sun Oct 16 • 4:43 pm EDT

 

Cowboys at Packers

Cole Beasley catches a touchdown pass. Beasley caught the ball around the three yard line facing parallel to the goal line, turned and dove to the goal line. The ball broke the plane, but when Beasley landed in the end zone, the ball popped out.

Referee Brad Allen reviewed the play. Mike Pereira speculated that the call could be overturned because the catch didn’t survive going to the ground. Allen announced that the ruling on the field “stands” meaning there was no indisputable evidence to overturn the touchdown call on the field.

Ben Austro
Sun Oct 16 • 4:39 pm EDT

 

Philadelphia at Washington (video)

Eagles tight end Vernon Davis scores a touchdown and tosses the ball through the goal posts. Davis was flagged for a celebration foul for using the ball and the goalposts as a prop.

This was not a celebration foul until recently. When Jimmy Graham, then of the Saints in 2014, dunked the ball over the goalposts, it caused the posts to be tilted off its axis. In the ensuing offseason, it was decided that the goalposts would be considered a prop in a celebration, under the existing rules that flag actions such as the use of the pylon as a mock golf putter.

While the slam dunk was rendered illegal, I guess this would have to include the fadeaway jumper as well. I’m not a fan of this — the dunk penalty obviously had its purpose, as the goalposts are not built for hanging on — and I’m not aware of a similar foul being assessed. This must have been an action that was discussed with the officials at the clinic when the rule changed.

Mark Schultz
Sun Oct 16 • 4:28 pm EDT

 

49ers at Bills (video)

The 49ers fumble the ball away and the officials go into fumble scrum mechanics. Bill Schuster and Ed Walker are first to the pile and they dig for the ball. Later, Dino Paganelli and Bob Waggoner arrive at the pile to make sure players off the pile stay off the pile. Then referee Gene Steratore signals possession. Finally, Paganelli and Waggoner snuff out a pushing and shoving match while Schuster gets up off the ground. This is good crew mechanics.

Ben Austro
Sun Oct 16 • 3:05 pm EDT

 

Panthers at Saints (video)

Saints receiver Brandin Cooks said that he would continue his bow-and-arrow celebration after Washington safety Josh Norman was flagged for a similar gesture two weeks ago. SVP/officiating Dean Blandino released a videowhich explained this was under the use of violent allusions/weaponry and is covered under the celebration fouls.

Cooks apparently was gun shy — sorry, that’s 15 yards on me — and pulled the imaginary arrow out of his pretend quiver but didn’t fake shoot it. He took a knee and held his hands skyward. While going to the ground in celebration is illegal, prayerful gestures are allowed, for obvious reasons. So, Cooks does not draw a celebration foul due to special dispensation.

Ben Austro
Sun Oct 16 • 2:27 pm EDT

 

Philadelphia at Washington (video)

Running back Robert Kelley ripped off a 45-yard run for Washington, and a flag comes in at the conclusion of the run for a horse-collar tackle. After a conference, the flag was picked up, as Eagles safety Rodney McLeod pulled Kelley down by his hair, which is legal. Although there is a grab from the top of the shoulder pads initially, which is in the horse-collar region, there is no downward pull by McLeod while gripping there. Tackling by the hair, however, is perfectly legal.

Ben Austro
Sun Oct 16 • 1:50 pm EDT

 

Ravens at Giants (video)

Giants receiver Odell Beckham Jr. caught a pass and fumbled it away immediately deep in Giants territory. This was reviewed to see if Beckham had completed the process of the catch. When Beckham turns up field, he starts to bobble control of the ball, but this seemed to be clearly after the catch process was complete. Although the replay result didn’t have an impact on the call, replay punted in this case, opting to go with “stands” over “confirmed.”

Ben Austro
Sun Oct 16 • 12:00 pm EDT

 

Today’s officials

Substitutions

  • U 124 Carl Paganelli* to Parry’s crew (PHI-WAS)
  • LJ 90 Mike Spanier* to Hochuli’s crew (PIT-MIA)
  • FJ 95 James Coleman* to Blakeman’s crew (JAX-CHI)
  • SJ 89 Jon Lucivansky* to Torbert’s crew (CIN-NE)

*Swing officials that are moved between crews each week.

28 thoughts on “Quick calls: Week 6

  1. Since CBS deigned not to show the replay from Ravens-Giants, how does a guy draw a flag for illegal block in the back when he’s on the punt team?

  2. Speaking of Triplette’s crew, how did Edwards or Thomas the blatant DPI that forced the Giants to settle for a FG to culminate first drive of second half?

  3. The Triplette crew is horrific.

    Just saw #36 on the Ravens push down #87 on the Giants to get to the ball for an INT. Classic DPI call. On the replay … who has the best view – #53 Sarah. Having never played and having little experience… she has no clue. Then Triplette screws up the placement based on the contact between DB and WR. Shameful!

    But keep up with this PC crap Roger and Dean. Ratings aren’t ever going down. Or, are they?

  4. Explanation of why 1st and goal after Gronkowski called for taunting in CIN-NE?

    Normally an after-play offensive PF results in 1st and 10, so it might be good to get a post up on this.

  5. sarah thomas was hired so that more women would watch the games. just like the whole fake breast cancer awareness crap. they do realize men get BC also right? And that there are other forms of cancer right?

  6. Mike Periera agrees with me:

    Mike Pereira Verified account
    & #8207;@MikePereira

    PI call in #BALvsNYG was not correct. Official almost seemed to confuse offense and defense.

  7. I can tell you that the Triplette crew is worst ever. Feel bad for #32. Trapped out there with awful bunch.

    Triplette is the only incompete one in league wearing a white hat.

    53 is most incompetent I have ever seen up close.

  8. And the unsportsmanlike penalties need so streamlining. When a guy is punished the same for flipping the ball to the refs and accidentally hitting an opposing team member as a guy like Blount (of\r, repeatedly Steve Smith Sr.) there is a problem.

    I’ve seen flags for taunting when teammates are looking at each other and NOT for taunting when a guy drags an opposing team member by his facemask.

    Judgement calls are one thing but this is silly.

  9. Pereira also agrees with me on the incorrect non-call for PI at the start of 2nd Half from Triplette’s crew. How about when the officials screw up it gets posted about and not just lauding for making the calls an NFL official SHOULD make

  10. Any official who swallows his whistle just because you’re within the last two minutes of the game – especially in the face of a blatant foul – should be suspended. The clown in Seattle possibly cost Atlanta the game. The league should publicly identify the official and make him accountable. Terrible non-call.

  11. Ah, the old “we won’t call penalties at the end of the game” unofficial rule in sports… it also happens in the NBA where five guys can pummel a guy trying to make a winning shot and there’s no whistle for a foul. Basically, the referees don’t want to be the ones who decide the game. And by doing nothing, they decide the game. In my opinion, any official that misses as blatant a pass interference call as in that Atlanta game shouldn’t be an official.

  12. I have to think there is bias in the Falcons game. How can anybody miss that pass interference?
    No way to miss that! Absolutely impossible.

  13. I am already not watching the sport I have loved since the 60’s because of players hate for the country I love . Now this. Unbelievable! I guess ill just read more books. And I hate reading.

  14. Regarding the Atl-Sea non-call on Sherman. Does the NFL condone this type of defense? Do they really want all defenses to coach to this?

  15. All the comments regarding the Falcon/Seahawk game are right on. And then Mark Schultz plays the typical “not the officials’ fault” card and writes, “official was…straight-lined on this call, and cannot see the through Sherman.” Don’t know what “stright-lined” is, but Sherman clotheslined Jones right arm very plainly. I agree that the official on the sideline should be IDed and suspended for incompetence. But no………..nothing will be done and the inept officiating will continue. Where are the replacement officials when we need them. COULDN’T be any worse!

  16. At the end of the first half of the Packers-Cowboys game, Cobb was tackled in the middle of the field. Cobb than placed the ball where he was tackled, the center snapped the ball and Rodgers threw a pass that was completed short of the endzone. Is there a rule that the umpire or another official has to spot the ball? Ultimately, it didn’t result in any points but I can’t imagine that an offensive player can just spot the ball without the officials being involved.

  17. Concerning the DPI on Julio Jones…does it really matter. NFL Officials are coddled and protected by the NFL. Their boss, Dean Blandino has never stepped on the field as a referee in his life. How do you put someone in charge that has never refereed? If the game had been played in Atlanta it would have been DPI. Because the game was played in Seattle the Tony Corrente crew became the 13th man. Richard Sherman was smart hooking Jones’ arm. He knew the odds were better the officials would swallow their whistles and not call DPI than Jones missing that ball if he had two hands to catch it.

  18. Can anyone give an explanation on the “illegal formation” penalty on the Dolphins in the Dolphins-Steelers game? Adam Gase was arguing that it was allowed, and the swirling theory seems to be that it was a bad call.

  19. On your update:
    The first picture shows Buddy Horton, the Field Judge, in the background. His angle should have been ideal for seeing the DPI. The second picture shows Todd Prukop, the Back Judge, who as you say, did not have a clear view of the DPI. Horton, however, is shown looking straight at the play, and could see Sherman’s arm reaching around Jones. I agree with JP on this one. Not going to get that call near the end of the game in Seattle. Bring back the replacements……

  20. You know, there’s an easy solution to all this DPI stuff: make pass interference reviewable in the last two minutes.

  21. I agree 100%. If the competition committee really wants to make sure the outcome of the game is dictated by the play and not by a call it should be reviewed. Things do not have to be this difficult. Take the “Catch” rule. If a receiver catches the ball in the end zone and obviously broken the plane of the goal line because he is in the end zone it should be a touchdown even if he falls and drops the ball. He possessed the ball and when he broke the plane the play is over. It is called the same way as a running touchdown. As soon as the ball breaks the plane the play is dead and it’s a touchdown no matter if he drops the ball. This is not rocket science is it?

  22. So, Dean Blandino called the Falcons coach Dan Quinn and both discussed the no DPI call at end of Seahawks game. Quinn refused to divulge contents of the discussion. Why isn’t Blandino talking about this just like the “catch” videos or the “celebration” videos?

Comments are closed.

Top