Did you see a call in Week 2 that doesn’t make sense? Did you see an official make a good call in tough circumstances? Let us know in the comments section or hit us up on Twitter @footballzebras.
49ers at Seahawks
The Seahawks blocked punt which had the Seahawks in disarray from a fan’s whistle is its own post.
49ers at Seahawks (video)
John Parry’s crew had a good holding call in the endzone, resulting in a safety for Seattle.
49ers at Seahawks (image)
A player can spin the ball, but not in the direction of an opponent. The Seahawks Sidney Rice spun the ball right at the feet of a 49ers player. That drew four flags and a correct unsportsmanlike conduct foul of Rice.
Titans at Texans (video)
An unusual sequence of events at the end of regulation on a quadruple-field-goal attempt:
- First attempt by Texans kicker Randy Bullock never happened because the Titans called timeout.
- Second attempt was blocked, but the Titans were offside, so move five yards closer, repeat. Time expired on the clock, so the Texans get one untimed down by rule.
- Third attempt never happened, either. Because there was an intervening snap, Titans were allowed to call timeout. Again.
- The fourth attempt was the actual play that counted, and it doinked the left upright.
The offside foul is not a snap-killing foul, so the Titans were allowed another timeout opportunity. Fouls that kill the snap (false start, 12 men in defensive formation) do not give the team the ability to call a second timeout. (There is a 15-yard unsportsmanlike conduct foul after the kick if there is a second timeout by one team in the same dead-ball period on a field goal attempt; the intervening snap eliminated this possibility.)
Broncos at Giants | 4th qtr., 4:00
Nice job by the Steratore crew to get together and properly rule illegal touching on the Giants on the onside kick, which New York recovered.
Broncos at Giants | 3rd qtr,, 3:08
Umpire Bill Schuster, (#129) with a critical, and correct taunting foul setting up first and goal for the Giants, who punch it in the next play.
Browns at Ravens
Sergio Lattanzi asks:
3:34 left in the game, Jason Campbell threw a pass from inside his endzone that was called a tipped ball and challenged by Baltimore. Bill Vinovich reviewed the play and simply stated “the call on the field stands.” Could you please explain this play? The announcing crew was unable to explain it and I’m unclear on what the call was and what Baltimore wanted it to be and what they hoped to gain by challenging the call.
Don’t have video, but the gamebook indicates there was a defensive pass interference foul called, and that the ball was tipped. When there is a tipped ball, pass interference cannot be called, as long as the interference occurs after the tip. Because the act of tipping/touching a ball is reviewable, the review was to see if the touch occurred prior to the foul. Vinovich said “stands,” according to your description, so it means there is no indisputable evidence to overturn the call on the field.
I’m not a fan of this particular type of review, even though it is permissible. Replay cannot be used to determine pass interference, yet the referee is using replay to determine when interference is reputed to start. What if the referee doesn’t agree with the interference call? Doesn’t matter. He has to base it on the act that the deep official based the foul on.
Cowboys at Chiefs (image)
Chiefs got an incredibly lucky bounce on a punt, with the ball coming to a near stop at the 2-yard line. Unfortunately, the Chiefs gunner who eventually touched the ball down had stepped out of bounds. That is an illegal touching foul, and Jerome Boger correctly ruled that an illegal touch inside the 5-yard line is ruled a touchback.
Browns at Ravens (video)
In four downs, Ravens go approximately 9 yards, 3531⁄32 inches. Bill Vinovich has to get on his knees and pull out his penalty card to ensure there is a gap between the ball at the inside plane of the first-down stake.
Browns at Ravens (video)
Head linesman Jim Mello (#48) with a critical spot on fourth down. Referee Bill Vinovich calls for the chains and rules the spot short by no more than an inch. The metal pole determines a first down or not, not the protective padding.
Titans at Texans (video)
Referee Jeff Triplette reverses his head linesman Phil McKinnley (#110) and awards a safety to the Texans. The entire ball has to get out of the end zone in order for the offense to avoid the safety.
Washington at Green Bay (video)
A catch and dive for the end zone by Packers receiver James Jones results in a touchback. Jones fumbled the ball, the loose ball contacting the pylon in the air. Because the pylon is the end zone plane and out of bounds, the ball is ruled out of bounds in the end zone. Therefore, it is a touchback, as ruled by side judge Ron Torbert.
Image: CBS Sports/NFL/@WorldofIsaac
Chargers at Eagles (video)
Back judge Lee Dyer (#27), field judge Terry Brown (#43) and line judge Mark Steinkirchner (#84) team up on a fumble at the goal line. Brown and Dyer did an excellent job to make sure that the ball didn’t break the plane of the goal line is San Diego possession for a touchdown.
Vikings at Bears (video)
The Bears Alshon Jeffrey takes an end around for a big gainer. Note side judge Keith Washington, #7, keeping a cushion between Jeffrey and the goal line. It used to be taboo for an official to turn his back on a play. Today, officials are allowed to turn their back on the play and look over their shoulder.
Washington at Green Bay
Side judge Ron Tobert astutely called Green Bay receiver Randall Cobb out of bounds while he was threading the sideline. He worked with the head linesman, but Torbert owned the call. Very important to be correct, because it is not reviewable. Had Torbert allowed the play to continue to a touchdown, it would be subject to review — and depending on the availability of conclusive evidence, may have let the touchdown stand.